Stetson Bennett wins 2022 Burlsworth Trophy
Connect with us

UGA Football

Stetson Bennett wins 2022 Burlsworth Trophy

Stetson Bennett
Photo: Tony Walsh/UGA

UGA football senior quarterback Stetson Bennett has been named the recipient of the 2022 Burlsworth Trophy, the Burlsworth Foundation announced on Monday.

The Burlsworth Trophy is an annual award presented to the most outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on. Bennett was selected as the winner over the other two finalists, Purdue quarterback Aidan O’Connell and Troy linebacker Carlton Martial.

Bennett, who hails from Blackshear, Ga., began his career with the Georgia Bulldogs as a walk-on in 2017. Following the 2017 season, he transferred to Jones College in Mississippi in search of more playing time.

Stetson Bennett returned to Athens in 2019 and played in five games. The following season in 2020, he came off of the bench to replace D’Wan Mathis and then started the next five games.

Last season, Stetson Bennett guided the Georgia Bulldogs to a 33-18 College Football National Championship victory over the Alabama Crimson Tide. It was the first national championship for the Bulldogs since the 1980 season.

Bennett has led the Bulldogs to a 13-0 record, including an SEC Championship Game victory, so far this season. He has completed 269-of-395 passes for 3,425 yards and 20 touchdowns. Bennett has also rushed 47 times for 184 yards and seven touchdowns.

Also on Monday, Stetson Bennett was named a Heisman Trophy finalist and will make the trip to New York along with TCU quarterback Max Duggan, Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud, and USC quarterback Caleb Williams.

The Bulldogs’ are scheduled to face the fourth-ranked Ohio State Buckeyes in the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on Saturday, Dec. 31 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga. The game will be televised by ESPN at 8:00pm ET.

2022 UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football