Jordan Davis, Nakobe Dean named 2021 Bednarik Award semifinalists
Connect with us

UGA Football

Jordan Davis, Nakobe Dean named 2021 Bednarik Award semifinalists

Jordan Davis
Photo: Rob Davis/UGA

UGA football defensive tackle Jordan Davis and linebacker Nakobe Dean have each been named 2021 Bednarik Award semifinalists, the Maxwell Football Club has announced.

The Bednarik Award, named after Chuck Bednarik, is an annual award given to the college football defensive player of the year.

The winner of the 2021 Bednarik Award will be announced at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 9, 2021.

Jordan Davis, who hails from from Charlotte, N.C., has played in all eight games for the Bulldogs so far this season. Davis has collected 20 total tackles (7 solo, 13 assisted), 3.5 tackles for loss (12 yards), two sacks (10 yards), and seven quarterback hurries.

Nakobe Dean is a native of Horn Lake, Miss. Dean has also played in all eight games this season and has recorded 37 total tackles (19 solo, 18 assisted), five tackles for loss (32 yards), 3.5 sacks (26 yards), two interceptions (50 yards), and 14 quarterback hurries.

Top-ranked Georgia (8-0) is next scheduled to host the Missouri Tigers at Dooley Field at Sanford Stadium in Athens, Ga., on Saturday, Nov. 6. The game is set for noon ET and it will be televised by ESPN.

2021 UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football