Three Bulldogs named to 2021 Butkus Award Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Three Bulldogs named to 2021 Butkus Award Watch List

Nakobe Dean
Photo: UGA Athletics

UGA football linebackers Adam Anderson, Nakobe Dean, and Quay Walker have each been named to the 2021 Butkus Award Watch List, The Butkus Foundation has announced.

The Butkus Award, named after legendary linebacker Dick Butkus, is an annual college football award given to the nation’s best linebacker by The Butkus Foundation.

Semifinalists for the Butkus Award will be announced on Monday, Nov. 1, finalists on Monday, Nov. 22, and winners will be notified on or before Tuesday, Dec. 7.

Last season, UGA’s Monty Rice was named a Butkus Award finalist. The last Bulldog to win the award was Roquan Smith following the 2017 season.

Adam Anderson (6-5, 230, Sr.) hails from Rome, Ga. Last season, he appeared in all 10 games and finished the season with 14 total tackles (12 solo, 2 assisted), 6.5 tackles for loss (51 yards), 6.5 sacks (51 yards), two forced fumbles, and one fumble recovery.

Nakobe Dean (6-0, 225, Jr.) is a native of Horn Lake, Miss. Dean also played in all 10 games during the 2020 season and recorded 71 total tackles (39 solo, 32 assisted), 1.5 tackles for loss (nine yards), and 1.5 sacks (nine yards).

Quay Walker (6-4, 240) hails from Cordele, Ga. Last season, he played in all 10 games and amassed 43 total tackles (26 solo, 17 assisted), two tackles for loss (four yards), and one sack (two yards).

The Georgia Bulldogs are scheduled to open the 2021 season against the Clemson Tigers in the Duke’s Mayo Classic at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C., on Saturday, Sept. 4.

2021 UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football