Arik Gilbert, Darnell Washington named to 2021 John Mackey Award Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Arik Gilbert, Darnell Washington named to 2021 John Mackey Award Watch List

Darnell Washington
Photo: Jason Parkhurst via Abell Images for the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl

UGA football sophomores Arik Gilbert and Darnell Washington have each been named to the 2021 John Mackey Award Watch List, The Friends of John Mackey have announced.

Gilbert, who transferred to Georgia from LSU, and Washington, join 54 other tight ends on the 2021 John Mackey list. The award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end.

The winner of the 2021 John Mackey Award will be announced in December and then presented at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Other SEC tight ends named to the 2021 John Mackey Award watch List include Jalen Wydermeyer (Texas A&M), Nick Muse (South Carolina), Jahleel Billingsley (Alabama), John Samuel Shenker (Auburn), Hudson Henry (Arkansas), and Keon Zipperer (Florida).

Arik Gilbert, a native of Marietta, Ga., played in eight games for LSU last season and recorded 35 receptions for 368 yards (10.5 avg.) and two touchdowns.

Darnell Washington, who hails from Las Vegas, Nevada, played in 10 games for the Bulldogs in 2020. He caught seven passes for 166 yards (16.6 avg.).

The Georgia Bulldogs are scheduled to open the 2021 season against the Clemson Tigers in the Duke’s Mayo Classic at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, N.C., on Saturday, Sept. 4.

2021 UGA Football Schedule


2023 UGA Football Tickets

2024 UGA Football Tickets (coming soon)

  • 08/31 - Clemson (in ATL)
  • 09/07 - Tennessee Tech
  • 09/14 - at Kentucky
  • 09/28 - at Alabama
  • 10/05 - Auburn
  • 10/12 - Mississippi State
  • 10/19 - at Texas
  • 11/02 - Florida (in JAX)
  • 11/09 - at Ole Miss
  • 11/16 - Tennessee
  • 11/23 - UMass
  • 11/30 - Georgia Tech


More in UGA Football