Jamie Newman named to 2020 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Jamie Newman named to 2020 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

Jamie Newman
Photo: Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

UGA quarterback Jamie Newman has been named to the 2020 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

The Davey O’Brien Award is an annual award given to the nation’s top quarterback. Newman is one of 30 student-athletes named to this year’s watch list that is based on “career player performance and expectations heading into the 2020 college football season.”

Other SEC quarterbacks named to the 2020 watch list include Mac Jones (Alabama), Kellen Mond (Texas A&M), Bo Nix (Auburn), and Kyle Trask (Florida).

Sixteen semifinalists for the 2020 Davey O’Brien Award will be announced on Tuesday, Nov. 10, followed by the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 24. The winner of the 2020 Davey O’Brien Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 10, 2020 live on ESPN.

For the 14th season, fans will be able to participate in the voting process for the Davey O’Brien Award at VoteObrien.org. Results from the fan vote will be combined with ballots from the selection committee.

In three seasons for the Demon Deacons, Newman completed 306-of-506 passes for a 60.5 completion percentage. He threw for 3,959 yards and 35 touchdowns against 16 interceptions.

On the ground, Newman has rushed for 826 yards on 245 attempts with six touchdowns.

As a senior at Wake Forest, Newman threw for 2,868 yards and also racked up 574 yards rushing while scoring 32 touchdowns (26 passing, 6 rushing).

The Georgia Bulldogs are currently scheduled to open the 2020 season on Monday, Sept. 7 (Labor Day) against the Virginia Cavaliers in the Chick-fil-A Kickoff at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga.

UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football