Kirby Smart named to 2019 Dodd Trophy Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Kirby Smart named to 2019 Dodd Trophy Watch List

Kirby Smart
Photo: Vasha Hunt-USA TODAY Sports

UGA football head coach Kirby Smart has been named to the 2019 Dodd Trophy Watch List, the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl have announced.

The Dodd Trophy is awarded to the head coach of a team “…who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s coaching philosophy.”

In his three seasons as head coach of the Bulldogs, Kirby Smart is 32-10 and 18-6 in Southeastern Conference play. He also led UGA to the 2017 SEC Championship, Rose Bowl win, and National Championship Game appearance.

“The Dodd Trophy is the most coveted coach of the year award because it looks beyond just the results on the field and measures the overall impact these coaches have had on their players, universities and communities,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “When determining candidates for the watch list, we carefully consider each coach’s commitment to the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity.”

2019 Dodd Trophy Watch List

Coach School Conference
Dino Babers Syracuse ACC
Matt Campbell Iowa State Big 12
Paul Chryst Wisconsin Big Ten
Kirk Ferentz Iowa Big Ten
Jimbo Fisher Texas A&M SEC
Pat Fitzgerald Northwestern Big Ten
James Franklin Penn State Big Ten
Scott Frost Nebraska Big Ten
Jim Harbaugh Michigan Big Ten
Bryan Harsin Boise State Mountain West
Tom Herman Texas Big 12
Josh Heupel UCF AAC
Brian Kelly Notre Dame Independent
Gus Malzahn Auburn SEC
Jeff Monken Army Independent
Dan Mullen Florida SEC
Chris Petersen Washington Pac-12
Lincoln Riley Oklahoma Big 12
Nick Saban Alabama SEC
David Shaw Stanford Pac-12
Kirby Smart Georgia SEC
Dabo Swinney Clemson ACC
Kyle Whittingham Utah Pac-12

“This impressive group of coaches has an unprecedented resume of nine National Championships, 50 conference titles and 2,012 career wins,” said Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl CEO & President Gary Stokan. “In what will be the sport’s 150th anniversary season, we couldn’t have asked for a more influential list of current coaches who have left their mark on college football.”

Last season, Kirby Smart was named a finalist for the Dodd Trophy, which was later given to Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly.

The Georgia Bulldogs are set to open the 2019 season at the Vanderbilt Commodores on Saturday, August 31. The game will be televised by the SEC Network at 7:30pm ET.

2019 UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football