D’Andre Swift named to 2019 Doak Walker Award Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

D’Andre Swift named to 2019 Doak Walker Award Watch List

D'Andre Swift
Photo: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

UGA junior running back D’Andre Swift has been named to the 2019 Doak Walker Award Watch List, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced on Wednesday.

Swift is one of 72 student-athletes named to the Doak Walker Award Watch List this season. Other SEC running backs named to the list include Ty Chandler (Jr., Tennessee), Jashaun Corbin (So., Texas A&M), Kylin Hill (Jr., Mississippi State), Lamical Perine (Sr., Florida), Larry Rountree, III (Jr., Missouri), Rakeem Boyd (Jr., Arkansas), Najee Harris (Jr., Alabama), Kam Martin (Sr., Auburn), Scottie Phillips (Sr., Ole Miss), KeShawn Vaughn (Sr., Vanderbilt), and Devwah Whaley (Sr., Arkansas).

The Doak Walker Award “was created in 1989 to recognize the nation’s premier running back for his accomplishments on the field, achievement in the classroom and citizenship in the community.”

Ten semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award will be named in November, and three finalists will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 20. The recipient of the 2019 Doak Walker Award will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday, Dec. 12 live on ESPN.

D’Andre Swift, a native of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, played in all 14 games last season as a sophomore for the Georgia Bulldogs. He rushed 163 times for 1,049 yards (6.4 avg.) and 10 touchdowns. He also caught 32 passes for 297 yards and three touchdowns.

Earlier this week, D’Andre Swift was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List for 2019 along with UGA junior quarterback Jake Fromm. The Maxwell Award is given to the college football player of the year.

Georgia opens the 2019 season on the road in Nashville, Tennessee, against the Vanderbilt Commodores on Saturday, August 31. The game will be televised by the SEC Network at 7:30pm ET.

UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football