UGA's Leonard Floyd named 2015 Butkus Award Semifinalist
Connect with us

UGA Football

UGA’s Leonard Floyd named 2015 Butkus Award Semifinalist

Leonard Floyd
Photo: Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

UGA junior outside linebacker Leonard Floyd has been named one of ten semifinalists for the 2015 Butkus Award.

The Butkus Award, named after legendary linebacker Dick Butkus, is an annual college football award given to the nation’s best linebacker by The Butkus Foundation.

Below are the ten semifinalists for the Butkus Award:

  • Kendall Beckwith, LSU
  • Su’a Cravens, USC
  • Kyler Fackrell, Utah State
  • Leonard Floyd, Georgia
  • Deion Jones, LSU
  • Blake Martinez, Stanford
  • Raekwon McMillan, Ohio State
  • Antonio Morrison, Florida
  • Reggie Ragland, Alabama
  • Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame

Leonard Floyd us tied for second with 22 solo tackles for the Dawgs. Combined with assisted tackles, Floyd is third on the team with 44. He also has 6.5 tackles for loss for 22 yards and 3.5 sackes, which leads the team, for 18 yards.

Floyd has also scored one touchdown this season after returning a fumble 96 yards against Tennessee.

A 6-foot-4, 231-pound junior from Eastman, Georgia, Leonard Floyd led the Bulldogs in 2014 with six sacks and also recorded 55 tackles, 8.5 tackles for loss, 17 quarterback pressures, and three forced fumbles.


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football