Georgia football wins two of six SEC individual awards
Connect with us

UGA Football

Georgia football wins two of six SEC individual awards

Chris Conley
Photo: John Kelley/UGA

ATHENS, Ga. – Two Bulldogs have each captured one of the six Southeastern Conference individual player awards, according to a league announcement on Wednesday.

True freshman tailback Nick Chubb was named the SEC Freshman of the Year after also earning similar honors from the Associated Press earlier this week. Chubb was also a First Team selection for the SEC Coaches and the AP.

Senior receiver Chris Conley earned SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors, giving the Bulldogs the last two honorees for this award after Aaron Murray garnered the 2013 accolade.

Chubb, a native of Cedartown, Ga., has shredded opposing defenses for 1,281 yards and 12 touchdowns on 186 carries (6.9 average) in his first season. He became the 12th Bulldog in history to reach 1,000 yards rushing in a single season and is currently No. 10 on the all-time list. Chubb, who also has 18 catches for 213 yards and a pair of scores, is second in the SEC in rushing yards per game (106.8).

Chubb joins Garrison Hearst (1990), Eric Zeier (1991), Randall Godfrey (1992), Quincy Carter (1998), David Greene (2001), Knowshon Moreno (2007) and A.J. Green (2008) as Bulldogs who have been named the Freshman of the Year by the league coaches.

Conley, a native of Dallas, Ga., has compiled a 3.0 or better GPA in each of his 11 academic terms at UGA, including two terms on the Dean’s List. He sports a 3.32 cumulative GPA and is on track to receive his Bachelor’s degree in Journalism in December.
He has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award and was named to the SEC Community Service Team and to the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Allstate AFCA Good Works Team. Conley was one of 12 finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy and a semifinalist for the Wooden Citizenship Cup.
Conley has led Georgia with 577 receiving yards and seven touchdowns in 2014 and trails only Michael Bennett with 32 catches for the Bulldogs. For his career, Conley is ranked fifth in school history with 19 touchdowns to go with 113 receptions for 1,858 yards in 48 games.

In addition to Murray last year, Conley joins David Green (2004) as the only three Bulldogs named the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The 13th-ranked Bulldogs (9-3, 6-2 SEC) take on 20th-ranked Louisville (9-3, 5-3 ACC) in the Belk Bowl in Charlotte, N.C., on December 30 at 6:30 p.m.

2014 SEC Football Awards

Freshman of the Year
Nick Chubb, Georgia

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Chris Conley, Georgia

Offensive Player of the Year
Amari Cooper, Alabama

Defensive Player of the Year
Shane Ray, Missouri

Special Teams Player of the Year
Marcus Murphy, Missouri

Jacobs Blocking Trophy
La’el Collins, LSU

Coach of the Year
Gary Pinkel, Missouri


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football