Chubb leads Bulldog selections on AP All-SEC teams
Connect with us

UGA Football

Chubb leads Bulldog selections on AP All-SEC teams

Nick Chubb
Photo: Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports

ATHENS, Ga. – Freshman tailback Nick Chubb was named the Southeastern Conference Freshman of the Year to highlight a list of Bulldogs on the Associated Press All-SEC teams.

Chubb, a native of Cedartown, also earned a spot on the First Team Offense and became the first Georgia player to earn AP Freshman of the Year honors since Isaiah Crowell in 2011.

Georgia finished with two First Team selections and four Second Team selections this season. Last year, the Bulldogs had three players named to the First Team Offense and Defense (place kicker Marshall Morgan, inside linebacker Ramik Wilson and tight end Arthur Lynch).

In addition to Chubb, senior inside linebacker Amarlo Herrera, a native of Atlanta, was included on the 2014 First Team on the defensive side of the ball.

Redshirt sophomore Greg Pyke, a native of Baltimore, Md., and senior center David Andrews, a native of Johns Creek, Ga., who was named a Rimington Trophy finalist on Monday, were part of the Second Team Offense. Another pair of seniors – Wilson, a native of Tampa, Fla., and cornerback Damian Swann, a native of Atlanta – was on the Second Team Defense.

The Bulldogs also had junior Marshall Morgan (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.), junior tackle John Theus (Jacksonville, Fla.), sophomore outside linebacker Leonard Floyd (Eastman, Ga.) and sophomore safety Quincy Mauger (Marietta, Ga.) included as Honorable Mention selections.

Associated Press – Freshman of the Year
Nick Chubb

First Team Offense
RB – Nick Chubb

First Team Defense
LB – Amarlo Herrera

Second Team Offense
L – Greg Pyke
C – David Andrews

Second Team Defense
LB – Ramik Wilson
CB – Damian Swann

Honorable Mention Offense
PK – Marshall Morgan
L – John Theus

Honorable Mention Defense
LB – Leonard Floyd
S – Quincy Mauger


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football