Aaron Murray Named 2013 Maxwell Award Semifinalist
Connect with us

UGA Football

Aaron Murray Named 2013 Maxwell Award Semifinalist

Aaron Murray

Aaron Murray is one of 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award. (Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports)

Aaron Murray has been named a semifinalist for the 2013 Maxwell Award, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced today. The Maxwell Award is given to the collegiate player of the year.

Three finalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on November 25, 2013. After a second round of voting, the winner of the 77th Maxwell Award will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN on December 12, 2013.

Aaron Murray has completed 139-of-224 passes for 1,938 yards and 17 touchdowns this season. He has also rushed 32 times for 150 yards and five touchdowns.

If Murray were to win the Maxwell Award, he would be only the third Bulldog ever. Charley Trippi won the award in 1946 and Herschel Walker took home the prize in 1982.

2013 Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Player Class Position College
Tajh Boyd SR QB Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater JR QB Louisville
Ka’Deem Carey JR RB Arizona
Derek Carr SR QB Fresno State
Brandin Cooks JR WR Oregon State
Mike Evans Soph WR Texas A&M
Melvin Gordon Soph RB Wisconsin
Sean Mannion JR QB Oregon State
Johnny Manziel Soph QB Texas A&M
Marcus Mariota Soph QB Oregon
AJ McCarron SR QB Alabama
Aaron Murray SR QB Georgia
Bryce Petty JR QB Baylor
Bishop Sankey JR RB Washington
Lache Seastrunk JR RB Baylor
Jameis Winston FR QB Florida State

2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football