Kirby Smart named to 2024 Dodd Trophy Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Kirby Smart named to 2024 Dodd Trophy Watch List

Kirby Smart
Photo: Tony Walsh/UGAAA

UGA football head coach Kirby Smart has been named to the 2024 Dodd Trophy Watch List, the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Peach Bowl, Inc. have announced.

The Dodd Trophy is awarded to the head coach of a team “…who enjoys success on the gridiron, while also stressing the importance of scholarship, leadership and integrity – the three pillars of legendary coach Bobby Dodd’s coaching philosophy.”

In his six seasons as head coach of the Bulldogs, Kirby Smart has an overall record of 94-16 and two College Football National Championship victories.

“The Dodd Trophy continues to be the most coveted coach of the year award due to what we call the ‘Dodd Difference,’ where coaches are held to a higher standard, both on and off the field,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Boddy Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “This award is about more than just wins on the gridiron, but also focuses on how these coaches embody leadership with their student-athletes in the classroom and throughout their communities. As a result, we only consider coaches whose programs have earned the highest APRs and require coaches to have at least two years of experience leading their current programs, so that they have had time to establish a precedent at their universities.”

2024 Dodd Trophy Watch List

Coach School Conference
Jeff Brohm Louisville ACC
Mario Cristobal Miami (FL) ACC
Ryan Day Ohio State Big Ten
Dave Doeren NC State ACC
Eliah Drinkwitz Mizzou SEC
Kirk Ferentz Iowa Big Ten
James Franklin Penn State Big Ten
Marcus Freeman Notre Dame Independent
Mike Gundy Oklahoma State Big 12
Josh Heupel Tennessee SEC
Brian Kelly LSU SEC
Lane Kiffin Ole Miss SEC
Chris Klieman Kansas State Big 12
Lance Leipold Kansas Big 12
Mike Norvell Florida State ACC
Brent Pry Virginia Tech ACC
Lincoln Riley USC Big Ten
Steve Sarkisian Texas SEC
Kirby Smart Georgia SEC
Dabo Swinney Clemson ACC
Kyle Whittingham Utah Big 12

“Even as our sport constantly evolves, these 21 coaches have continuously exemplified what The Dodd Trophy stands for in their relentless commitment to scholarship, leadership and integrity,” said Peach Bowl, Inc. CEO & President Gary Stokan. “We’re looking forward to kicking off the new era of college football this season with the expanded College Football Playoff, and look forward to seeing how these coaches continue to set the standard on the field, in the classroom and in their communities.”

A midseason watch list will be revealed this fall, which could either narrow or expand the field of candidates.

The Georgia Bulldogs are set to open the 2024 season against the Clemson Tigers in the Aflac Kickoff Game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga., on Saturday, Aug. 31. The game will be televised live by ABC at noon ET (Buy Tickets).

2024 UGA Football Schedule

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football