Brock Bowers named 2023 Mackey Award semifinalist
Connect with us

UGA Football

Brock Bowers named 2023 Mackey Award semifinalist

Brock Bowers
Photo: Tony Walsh/UGAAA

UGA football junior tight end Brock Bowers has been named a 2023 John Mackey Award semifinalist, The Friends of John Mackey have announced.

The John Mackey Award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. Bowers is one of nine players named as semifinalists. Below is the complete list:

  • AJ Barner, Michigan
  • Brock Bowers, Georgia
  • Dallin Holker, Colorado State
  • Theo Johnson, Penn State
  • Bryson Nesbit, North Carolina
  • Ja’Tavion Sanders, Texas
  • Ben Sinnott, Kansas State
  • Cade Stover, Ohio State
  • Jack Velling, Oregon State

The winner of the 2023 John Mackey Award will be announced in December and then presented at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show live on ESPN.

Brock Bowers hails from Napa, Calif. In his three seasons in Athens, Bowers has caught 160 passes for 2,391 yards (14.9 avg.) and 24 touchdowns. He has also rushed 19 times for 193 yards and five touchdowns.

Bowers was injured in Georgia’s seventh game of the 2023 season. He has missed the last two games against Florida and Missouri, but could return to the gridiron soon.

The Bulldogs’ next game is on Saturday, Nov. 11 against the 10th-ranked Ole Miss Rebels at Dooley Field at Sanford Stadium in Athens, Ga. The game will be televised by ESPN at 7:00pm ET (Buy Tickets).

2023 UGA Football Schedule

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football