Ladd McConkey named a finalist for the 2023 Campbell Trophy
Connect with us

UGA Football

Ladd McConkey named a finalist for the 2023 Campbell Trophy

Ladd McConkey
Photo: Tony Walsh/UGAAA

UGA football junior wide receiver Ladd McConkey has been named a finalist for the 2023 William V. Campbell Trophy, according to an announcement from the National Football Foundation (NFF) and the College Football Hall of Fame.

McConkey, a native of Chatsworth, Ga., is one of 16 finalists for  the 2023 William V. Campbell Trophy, who were selected from 201 semifinalists overall.

“We are extremely proud to announce the finalists for this year’s Campbell Trophy®,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy® recipient) and Eli were NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “These young men have an unrelenting commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives, and they represent all that is right in college football. As strong leaders in the vein of the trophy’s namesake Bill Campbell, they all serve as living examples that the ‘Future For Football’ is bright. We are excited to honor their hard work and outstanding leadership with postgraduate scholarships.”

As a finalist for the Campbell Trophy, McConkey will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2023 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class presented by Fidelity Investments.

Below is the complete list of finalists:

  • Cooper Beebe, OL – Kansas State (3.84 GPA – Social Studies Education)
  • JD Bertrand, LB – Notre Dame (3.62 GPA – Marketing)
  • DeWayne Carter, DT – Duke (3.47 GPA – Psychology)
  • Loobert Denelus, DE – Benedict [SC] (3.96 GPA – Psychology)
  • Jacob Dobbs, LB – Holy Cross (3.76 GPA – Economics & Religious Studies)
  • Olu Fashanu, OT – Penn State (3.45 GPA – Supply Chain & Info Systems)
  • Zach Frazier, C – West Virginia (3.88 GPA – Sport Management)
  • Owen Grover, LB – Wartburg [IA] (3.99 GPA – Biology)
  • Leo Lowin, LB – Army West Point (3.92 GPA – Engineering Management)
  • Ladd McConkey, WR – Georgia (3.85 GPA – Finance)
  • Bo Nix, QB – Oregon (3.62 GPA – Communications)
  • Davius Richard, QB – North Carolina Central (3.59 GPA – Business Administration)
  • Luke Schuermann, DE – Johns Hopkins [MD] (3.61 GPA – Mechanical Engineering)
  • Taulia Tagovailoa, QB – Maryland (3.61 GPA – Family Science)
  • Liam Thompson, QB – Wabash [IN] (3.87 GPA – Rhetoric)
  • Zak Zinter, OL – Michigan (3.53 GPA – Sport Management)

The finalists will travel to the ARIA Resort & Casino in Las Vegas for the 65th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 5. One player will be named the winner of the Campbell Trophy and his postgraduate scholarship will be increased to $25,000.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

In his two seasons in Athens, McConkey has amassed 98 receptions, 1316 yards, and 12 touchdowns. He also has 11 rushes for 178 yards and three touchdowns.

The Bulldogs’ next game is on Saturday, Oct. 28 against the Florida Gators at TIAA Bank Field in Jacksonville, Fla. The game will be televised by CBS at 3:30pm ET (Buy Tickets).

2023 UGA Football Schedule

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football