Ladd McConkey named a semifinalist for the 2023 Campbell Trophy
Connect with us

UGA Football

Ladd McConkey named a semifinalist for the 2023 Campbell Trophy

Ladd McConkey
Photo: Tony Walsh/UGAAA

UGA football junior wide receiver Ladd McConkey has been named a semifinalist for the 2023 William V. Campbell Trophy, according to an announcement from the National Football Foundation (NFF) and the College Football Hall of Fame.

McConkey, a native of Chatsworth, Ga., is one of 89 semifinalists from the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS), and one of 201 semifinalists overall.

“These 201 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell Trophy® winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “During the past seven decades, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards have recognized 906 college football players who excelled as the best our great sport has to offer. This year’s semifinalists build on the tradition, further illustrating the power of football to develop the next generation of influential leaders.”

On October 25, the NFF will announce 12-14 finalists for the Campbell Trophy, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2023 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class presented by Fidelity Investments.

The finalists will travel to the ARIA Resort & Casino in Las Vegas for the 65th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 5. One player will be named the winner of the Campbell Trophy and his postgraduate scholarship will be increased to $25,000.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

Georgia’s last semifinalist for the Campbell Trophy was kicker Rodrigo Blankenship in 2019. Matt Stinchcomb is the only Bulldog to win the Campbell Trophy (1998).

In his two seasons in Athens, McConkey has amassed 89 receptions, 1209 yards, and 12 touchdowns. He also has 11 rushes for 178 yards and three touchdowns.

The Georgia Bulldogs (4-0, 1-0 SEC) are next scheduled to travel to play the Auburn Tigers on Saturday, Sept. 30. The game will be televised by CBS at 3:30pm ET (Buy Tickets).

2023 UGA Football Schedule

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football