Two Bulldogs named to 2023 Bednarik Award Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Two Bulldogs named to 2023 Bednarik Award Watch List

Javon Bullard
UGA DB Javon Bullard (22). Photo: Tony Walsh/UGAAA

UGA football linebacker Jamon Dumas-Johnson and defensive back Javon Bullard have both been named to the 2023 Bednarik Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club has announced.

The Bednarik Award, named after Chuck Bednarik, is an annual award given to the college football defensive player of the year.

Last season, Georgia defensive tackle Jalen Carter, linebacker Nolan Smith, and defensive back Kelee Ringo were each named to the Bednarik Award Watch List.

The winner of the 2023 Bednarik Award will be announced at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 7.

Dumas-Johnson (6-1, 245, Jr.) hails from Hyattsville, Md. Last season as a sophomore, he started all 15 games and finished the season with 70 total tackles, nine tackles for loss, four quarterback sacks, and 36 quarterback hurries.

Javon Bullard (5-11, 195, Jr.) hails from Milledgeville, Ga. Last season as a sophomore, he played in 14 games and started 10 times at defensive back. Bullard finished the season with 46 total stops, which was fifth-best on the team, and two interceptions.

The back-to-back national champion Georgia Bulldogs are scheduled to open the 2023 season on Saturday, Sept. 2 against the UT Martin Skyhawks at Dooley Field at Sanford Stadium in Athens, Ga. (Buy Tickets).

2023 UGA Football Schedule

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football