Stetson Bennett named to 2022 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Stetson Bennett named to 2022 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

Stetson Bennett
Photo: Jimmie Mitchell/SEC

UGA senior quarterback Stetson Bennett has been named to the 2022 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

The Davey O’Brien Award is an annual award given to the nation’s top quarterback. Bennett is one of 35 student-athletes named to this year’s watch list that is based on “career player performance and expectations heading into the 2022 college football season.”

Other SEC quarterbacks named to the 2022 watch list include Hendon Hooker (Tennessee), KJ Jefferson (Arkansas), Will Levis (Kentucky), Spencer Rattler (South Carolina), Will Rogers (Mississippi State), and Bryce Young (Alabama).

Sixteen semifinalists for the 2022 Davey O’Brien Award will be announced on Monday, Nov. 7, followed by the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The winner of the 2022 Davey O’Brien Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 8 live on ESPN.

Stetson Bennett led the Bulldogs to a 33-18 victory over Alabama in the 2021 College Football Playoff National Championship. He was named Offensive MVP of the Championship Game after completing 17-of-26 passes for 224 yards and and pair of touchdowns.

The Georgia Bulldogs are scheduled to open the 2022 season on Saturday, Sept. 3 against the Oregon Ducks in the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga.

2022 UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football