Stetson Bennett, Brock Bowers named to 2022 Maxwell Award Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Stetson Bennett, Brock Bowers named to 2022 Maxwell Award Watch List

Brock Bowers-Stetson Bennett
Photo: Tony Walsh/UGA

UGA football quarterback Stetson Bennett and tight end Brock Bowers have both been named to the 2022 Maxwell Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club has announced.

The Maxwell Award, named after Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, is an annual award given to the college football player of the year.

Other SEC football players named to the 2022 Maxwell Award Watch List include Bryce Young (QB, Alabama), Will Anderson (LB, Alabama), KJ Jefferson (QB, Arkansas), Tank Bigsby (RB, Auburn), Anthony Richardson (QB, Florida), Will Levis (QB, Kentucky), Chris Rodriguez (RB, Kentucky), Kayshon Boutte (WR, LSU), Will Rogers (QB, Mississippi State), Spencer Rattler (QB, South Carolina), Hendon Hooker (QB, Tennessee), Cedric Tillman (WR, Tennessee), Devon Achane (RB, Texas A&M), and Mike Wright (QB, Vanderbilt).

The winner of the 2022 Maxwell Award will be announced live on ESPN at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December.

Stetson Bennett and Brock Bowers led the Georgia Bulldogs to a national championship last season. The Bulldogs defeated Alabama 33-18 in the College Football Playoff National Championship in Indianapolis, Ind., and finished the season 14-1 overall (8-0 SEC).

The Georgia Bulldogs are scheduled to open the 2022 season on Saturday, Sept. 3 against the Oregon Ducks in the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga.

2022 UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football