Nakobe Dean, Monty Rice named 2020 Butkus Award semifinalists
Connect with us

UGA Football

Nakobe Dean, Monty Rice named 2020 Butkus Award semifinalists

Nakobe Dean
Photo: Tony Walsh/UGA

Georgia inside linebackers Nakobe Dean and Monty Rice have both been named one of 16 semifinalists for the 2020 Butkus Award, The Butkus Foundation announced on Monday.

The Butkus Award, named after legendary linebacker Dick Butkus, is an annual college football award given to the nation’s best linebacker by The Butkus Foundation.

Finalists for the 2020 Butkus Award are expected to be announced on Monday, Dec. 7, 2020 and the winner will be announced on or before Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2020.

Nakobe Dean, a sophomore, hails from Horn Lake, Miss. So far this season, Dean has recorded 63 total tackles (33 solo, 33 assisted), 1.5 tackles for loss, 1.5 sacks, and nine quarterback hurries.

Monty Rice is a senior who hails from Huntsville, Ala. Through eight games, Rice has recorded 46 total tackles (27 solo, 19 assisted), one tackle for loss, one sack, two forced fumbles (one recovery), and five quarterback hurries.

The ninth-ranked Georgia Bulldogs (6-2) play host to the Vanderbilt Commodores at Dooley Field at Sanford Stadium this Saturday. The SEC Network will televise the game at 4:00pm ET.


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football