Three Bulldogs named to 2020 Bronco Nagurski Trophy Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Three Bulldogs named to 2020 Bronco Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Richard LeCounte
Photo: John Reed-USA TODAY Sports

Defensive backs Richard LeCounte and Eric Stokes and linebacker Monty Rice have each been named to the 2020, Bronko Nagurski Award Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced on Tuesday.

The Bronko Nagurski trophy is an annual award given to the top defensive player in college football as voted by the FWAA. 98 players have been named to the list and the SEC is second with 15 players.

The full conference breakdown is as follows: ACC (17), SEC (15), Pac-12 (13), Big 12 (12), Big Ten (10), C-USA (7), American Athletic (6), Sun Belt (6), MAC (5), Mountain West (4), and Independents (3).

Richard LeCounte (Sr., 5-11, 190), who hails from from Riceboro, Ga., played in all 14 games last season and had 61 total tackles (35 solo, 26 assisted). LeCounte also had four interceptions, two forced fumbles, and five fumble recoveries.

Eric Stokes (Jr., 6-1, 185) is a native of Covington, Ga. He also played in all 14 games in 2019 and recorded 38 total tackles (30 solo, eight assisted), one sack, and one force fumble.

Monty Rice (Sr., 6-1, 235) hails from Huntsville, Ala. Rice also played in all 14 games during the 2019 season and recorded 89 total tackles (50 solo, 39 assisted) and three tackles for loss (10 yards).

The Georgia Bulldogs are currently scheduled to open the 2020 season on Monday, Sept. 7 (Labor Day) against the Virginia Cavaliers in the Chick-fil-A Kickoff at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga.

UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football