Jamie Newman named to 2020 Maxwell Award Watch List
Connect with us

UGA Football

Jamie Newman named to 2020 Maxwell Award Watch List

Jamie Newman
Photo: Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

UGA football quarterback Jamie Newman has been named to the 2020 Maxwell Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club has announced.

The Maxwell Award, named after Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, is an annual award given to the college football player of the year.

This is the second consecutive season that Jamie Newman has been named to the Maxwell Award Watch List. Last year, Newman was not on the preseason list, but was added in October.

Other SEC football players named to the Maxwell Award Watch List include Rakeem Boyd (RB, Arkansas), Ja’Marr Chase (WR, LSU), K.J. Costello (QB, Mississippi State), Najee Harris (RB, Alabama), Kylin Hill (RB, Mississippi State), Kellen Mond (QB, Texas A&M), Bo Nix (QB, Auburn), DeVonta Smith (WR, Alabama), Derek Stingley Jr. (DB, LSU), Kyle Trask (QB, Florida), Jaylen Waddle (WR, Alabama), and Seth Williams (WR, Auburn).

The winner of the 2020 Maxwell Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December live on ESPN.

In three seasons for at Wake Forest, Newman completed 306-of-506 passes for a 60.5 completion percentage. He threw for 3,959 yards and 35 touchdowns against 16 interceptions.

On the ground, Newman rushed for 826 yards on 245 attempts with six touchdowns.

As a senior with the Demon Deacons, Newman threw for 2,868 yards and also racked up 574 yards rushing while scoring 32 touchdowns (26 passing, 6 rushing).

The Georgia Bulldogs are currently scheduled to open the 2020 season on Monday, Sept. 7 (Labor Day) against the Virginia Cavaliers in the Chick-fil-A Kickoff at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Ga.

UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football