David Pollack named to 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot
Connect with us

UGA Football

David Pollack named to 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

David Pollack
Photo: UGA Athletics

Former UGA football linebacker David Pollack has been named to the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot, the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame announced on Monday.

This is the second consecutive year that David Pollack has been nominated.

Pollack is one of 76 players from the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) named on the 2020 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. Five coaches from the FBS along with 101 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks were also included on the ballot.

“It’s an enormous honor to just be on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot when you think that more than 5.33 million people have played college football and only 1,010 players have been inducted,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “The Hall’s requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today’s elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and we look forward to announcing the 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class in January.”

David Pollack played for the Georgia Bulldogs from 2001 through 2004. He was named a First-Team All-American and First-Team All-SEC in 2002, 2003, and 2004.

Pollack also received several other designations and awards, including the SEC Player of the Year (2002 and 2004), Chuck Bednarik Award (2004), Lott Trophy (2004), Lombardi Award (2004), and Ted Hendricks Award (2003 and 2004). He is also a member of the Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame.

In the 2005 NFL Draft, David Pollack was selected in the first round by the Cincinnati Bengals. During his second season, Pollack suffered a break to his sixth cervical vertebrae and would later retire from football.

Pollack is now a college football analyst for ESPN. Currently, he serves as an analyst for College Gameday and is also a contributor to ESPN’s daily college football news show College Football Live.

The 2020 voting deadline is Friday, June 21. The 2020 College Football Hall of Fame Class will officially be inducted during the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Tuesday, Dec. 8, 2020.


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football