Jake Fromm named Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist
Connect with us

UGA Football

Jake Fromm named Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist

Jake Fromm
Photo: Philip Williams/UGA

UGA sophomore quarterback Jake Fromm has been named a 2018 Davey O’Brien Award semifinalist, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has announced.

The Davey O’Brien Award is an annual award given to the nation’s top quarterback. Fromm is one of 16 student-athletes named as a semifinalist for this year’s award.

The three finalists for the 2018 Davey O’Brien Award will be announced on Monday, Nov. 19. The winner of the 2018 Davey O’Brien Award will be announced at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 6, 2018.

For the 12th season, fans are able to participate in the voting process for the Davey O’Brien Award at VoteObrien.org, which began on Tuesday, Sept. 4. Results from the fan vote will be combined with ballots from the selection committee.

This season, Jake Fromm has completed 130 of 192 passes for 1,762 yards, 17 touchdowns, and only four interceptions. He has led the Bulldogs to an 8-1 record (6-1 SEC) and a No. 5 College Football Playoff ranking.

As a freshman, Jake Fromm completed 181 of 291 passes for 2,615 yards and 24 touchdowns. He also rushed 55 times for 79 yards and three touchdowns.

The other 15 quarterbacks named semifinalists include Ian Book (Notre Dame), Mason Fine (North Texas), Ryan Finley (NC State), Will Grier (West Virginia), Dwayne Haskins (Ohio State), Justin Herbert (Oregon), D’Eriq King (Houston), Trevor Lawrence (Clemson), Jordan Love (Utah State), Marcus McMaryion (Fresno State), McKenzie Milton (UCF), Gardner Minshew (Washington State), Kyler Murray (Oklahoma), Shea Patterson (Michigan) and Tua Tagovailoa (Alabama).

The Georgia Bulldogs host the 24th-ranked Auburn Tigers this Saturday. The game will be televised by ESPN at 7:00pm ET.

UGA Football Schedule


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football