Six Bulldogs take top awards at annual UGA Football Gala
Connect with us

UGA Football

Six Bulldogs take top awards at annual UGA Football Gala

David Andrews
Photo: Sean Taylor/UGA

ATHENS, Ga. – Senior center David Andrews of Johns Creek, Ga., senior quarterback Hutson Mason of Marietta, senior linebacker Amarlo Herrera of College Park, senior defensive back Damian Swann of Atlanta, senior nose Mike Thornton of Stone Mountain and senior inside linebacker Kosta Vavlas of Tarpon Springs, Fla., took home the top awards at the University of Georgia football annual team Gala Saturday night at the Classic Center in Athens.

Andrews was named recipient of the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player Award, and he was also named the team’s overall permanent captain for 2014. Mason was elected the team’s offensive captain, Herrera, Swann and Thornton were chosen as the defensive captains, while Valvas was named the special teams captain. Mason was also named winner of the David Jacobs Award as the player who, by example, portrayed courage, spirit, character and determination.

Junior tailback Todd Gurley of Tarboro, N.C., claimed Most Valuable Offensive Player honors, while sophomore outside linebacker Leonard Floyd of Eastman and Vavlas were named Most Valuable Players for defense and special teams, respectively.

The Leon Farmer Awards for dedication to the strength and conditioning program were presented to flanker Chris Conley of Dallas, Ga., and Vavlas. Outstanding Scout Team Awards went to freshman fullback Detric Bing-Dukes of Atlanta, freshman quarterback Jacob Park of Goose Creek, S.C., sophomore tight end Jared Chapple of Alpharetta, senior inside linebacker A.J. McDonald, and sophomore free safety Jonah Guinn of Walnut Grove.

Most Improved Player Awards were presented to sophomore guard Greg Pyke of Baltimore, Md., senior defensive end Ray Drew of Thomasville, junior outside linebacker Jordan Jenkins of Hamilton, sophomore inside linebacker Tim Kimbrough of Indianapolis, Ind., senior free safety Lucas Redd of Jefferson, sophomore inside linebacker Ryne Rankin of Orlando, Fla., and sophomore split end Kenneth Towns of Albany.

Newcomer of the Year Award winners were tailback Nick Chubb of Cedartown, tight end Jeb Blazevich of Charlotte, N.C., Lorenzo Carter of Norcross, Dominick Sanders of Tucker and wide receiver/return specialist Isaiah McKenzie of Miami.

Coaches Leadership Awards went to Andrews, Conley, Swann, Herrera, Vavlas, and senior split end Michael Bennett of Alpharetta

The Charley Trippi Most Versatile Awards were presented to junior fullback Quayvon Hicks of Blackshear and senior inside linebacker Ramik Wilson of Tampa, Fla., while the Frank Sinkwich Toughness Awards were presented to Andrews and Thornton. Junior split end Malcolm Mitchell of Valdosta was named Comeback Player of the Year, and Vavlas was presented with the Senior Scholar Award.


2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football